Faster Pussycat was formed in Hollywood by Taime Downe during the Glam Metal boom of the 1980s. The earliest incarnation of the band featured Taime Downe and Greg Steele along with Brent Muscat. The name of the band, ‘Faster Pussycat’, is derived from the Russ Meyer film, Faster Pussycat! Kill! Kill!.

Faster Pussycat

Faster Pussycat

The band released their debut album, title Faster Pussycat in 1987. The band managed to build a cult following, releasing two promotional videos from the first album for the songs “Bathroom Wall” and “Don’t Change That Song”. In November 1987 the band appeared on the cover of Screamer Magazine’s debut issue. Says David Castagno, the magazine’s Publisher/Editor and now host of RadioScreamer, “Faster Pussycat will always hold a special place in my heart”. In the United States the band toured with Alice Cooper, David Lee Roth, and Motörhead in support of the debut album. They also headlined the “Itch You Can’t Scratch Tour”, with opening act Reiss & Hard Liquor, with famed front man singer Troy Reissmann.

Also in 1987, Faster Pussycat appeared in the Rockumentary film, The Decline of Western Civilization part 2 – The Metal Years. The band was interviewed at some length and performed live versions of “Cathouse” and “Bathroom Wall”.

Two years later, Faster Pussycat would record their most successful album “Wake Me When It’s Over”. The album received gold status; the sales being largely boosted by the hit single, “House of Pain”. Music videos were also produced for “House of Pain” and “Poison Ivy”.

In 1990, they recorded a cover of Carly Simon’s “You’re So Vain” for a compilation called ‘Rubáiyát: Elektra’s 40th Anniversary’. A video was also filmed for this track. The song was also later included on the 1992 Belted, Buckled And Booted EP, which served as the single for “Nonstop To Nowhere” and also included two unreleased tracks.

In 1993, Faster Pussycat broke up, and all members went their separate ways into various projects. Taime Downe was involved with industrial musical act “Pigface” before expanding on the darker themes started on Whipped!, by forming his own industrial rock act with Kyle Kyle of Bang Tango called “The Newlydeads”.

In 2001 Faster Pussycat reformed featuring original members Taime Downe (vocals), Brent Muscat (guitar), Greg Steele (guitar); alongside Downe’s former Newlydeads bandmates Xristian Simon (guitar), Danny Nordahl (bass), and Chad Stewart (drums). Danny Nordahl had also played in “The Throbs”, and Nordahl and Chad Stewart both also play in “Motochrist”.

Greg Steele would leave the band halfway through the band’s 2001 headlining reunion tour. Tracii Guns filled in as guitarist for the rest of the tour, but once the remaining dates were completed, Faster Pussycat continued as a five piece. Eric Griffin from Murderdolls, Synical, and eventually Wednesday 13, filled in as the guitarist for their United States tour due to Brent Muscat’s scheduling conflicts. Brent Muscat would return briefly, until oral cancer sidelined him in late summer of 2005 and he was temporarily replaced by Michael Thomas. That became permanent when Muscat chose not to return to the lineup. In the late spring of 2010 Ace Von Johnson replaced Michael Thomas, who had decided to devote his full-time work to Adler’s Appetite.


Current Band Members

Taime Downe – lead vocals (1986–1993, 2001–present)
Xristian Simon – guitar (2001–present)
Danny Nordahl – bass (2001–present)
Chad Stewart – drums, percussion (2001–present)
Ace Von Johnson – guitar (2010–present)



Studio albums
1987 Faster Pussycat
1989 Wake Me When It’s Over
1992 Whipped!
2006 The Power and the Glory Hole
2009 Front Row for the Donkey Show

1990 Live and Rare
1992 Belted, Buckled and Booted

2001 Between the Valley of the Ultra Pussy
2003 Greatest Hits: Faster Pussycat

1987 Babylon, Don’t Change That Song, Bathroom Wall
1989 Poison Ivy
1990 You’re So Vain, House of Pain
1992 Nonstop to Nowhere
2006 Number 1 with a Bullet